Feigenholtz, Schoenberg Win Addiction Health Care Advocacy Leadership Awards

Sara Howe (left) and State Rep. Sara Feigenholtz

(Springfield, IL) – The Illinois Alcoholism and Drug Dependence Association (IADDA) today announced that its two 2009 legislative honors has been awarded to State Representative Sara Feigenholtz (D-Chicago) and State Senator Jeff Schoenberg (D-Evanston).

“Representative Feigenholtz has been a loyal and energetic advocate for addiction health care services who has worked tirelessly on our behalf in the Illinois House,” said Sara Moscato Howe, CEO of IADDA.

IADDA’s Legislative Leadership Award is presented to one House and one Senate member annually to recognize their efforts to support and advocate for community-based addiction prevention, treatment and recovery services.

“Since 1995, the number of Illinois women in drug, alcohol

Sara Howe and State Senator Jeff Schoenberg

treatment has surged 41%,” said Howe. “Rep. Feigenholtz has fought to ensure that necessary prevention, treatment, and recovery funding is available to care for women burdened by addiction.”

First elected to the House in 1994, Feigenholtz serves as the Chair of the House Human Services Committee.

“Senator Schoenberg has been a enthusiastic and trusted advocate for addiction health care services and we owe him well deserved gratitude for his efforts in the Illinois State Senate,” said Moscato Howe.

“In 2009, a resurgent heroin crisis killed more than 100 people in the northern Illinois suburbs, a crisis that is zeroing in on local teens. said Howe.

“Senator Schoenberg has recognized the vital need to maintain necessary prevention, treatment, and recovery funding to avoid these tragic deaths.”

First elected to the House in 1990, Schoenberg was elected to the Senate in 2003.

Quinn, Lawmakers Urged to Support $74 Million Schoenberg Plan to Boost Drug, Alcohol Abuse Prevention and Treatment to Protect Youth

(Springfield, IL) – Illinois’ leading addiction healthcare advocates today called on Governor Pat Quinn and top lawmakers to support legislation to give a $74 million financial boost to community addiction

State Senator Jeff Schoenberg

State Senator Jeff Schoenbergprevention and treatment providers who are relentlessly confronting deadly accidents involving youth linked to alcohol or drugs.

“Alcohol abuse and drunk driving continue to exact a terrible, deadly toll on youth and children in communities throughout Illinois,” said Sara Moscato Howe, CEO of the Illinois Alcoholism and Drug Dependence Association. “Addiction is recession-proof.”

“We are calling on Governor Pat Quinn, Speaker Michael Madigan, House Minority Leader Tom Cross, Senate President John Cullerton, and Senate

Senate President John Cullerton

Senate President John Cullerton

Minority Leader Christine Radogno to support Senator Jeff Schoenberg’s legislation to invest an additional $74 million this year into under-funded addiction healthcare services,” said Moscato Howe.

“We recognize the state faces tough budget problems, but we can’t put a price tag on saving peoples’ lives,” Moscato Howe added.

Schoenberg’s legislation, Senate Bill 1856, would appropriate an additional $18,100,000 to community based addiction treatment for Medicaid eligible individuals and KidCare enrolled children.  The legislation would also appropriate an additional $6,000,000 to expand addiction prevention services for youth.

The bill is currently in the Senate Assignment Appropriations I Committee.

Moscato Howe also noted an Illinois Department of Human Services study revealed that in 2006 nearly 40% of Illinois 12th graders had ridden in a car with a drunk or high teenager in the last year and 30% had had the same experience with a drunk or high adult.

“Illinois youth are at risk of harm and death by their alcohol and drug use and adults’ use too,” said Moscato Howe. “Governor Quinn and lawmakers must act now to increase investment in the addiction healthcare system. Saving lives must be a priority even in a recession”

“We urge the Senate Appropriations Committee to debate the risks faced by Illinois youth from drugs and alcohol and then approve the bill quickly,” said Moscato Howe.

The Senate Appropriations Committee includes: Senators Donne Trotter, Jeff Schoenberg, Jacqueline Collins, William Delgado, Mattie Hunter, Mike Jacobs, Emil Jones III, Matt Murphy, Pamela Althoff, Tim Bivins, Chris Lauzen, and Dave Syverson.